Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/barefoot/public_html/wp-content/themes/deliciousmagazine/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Review: Water/Aqua Shoes

Review, originally posted 2007-08-31 (Revised: 2008-05-05) on tjespter.com

Style: Men’s & women’s
Sample Size: EU44 / UK10 / US10.5
Other names: Surf shoe, bathing shoe, aqua shoe
Design: Nika Holding GmbH (Germany)
Country of production: Unknown
Weight per shoe*: 130 gr. (4.59 oz.) (blue model) – 224 gr. (7.90 oz.) (green model)
Thickness of sole*: 4.5 mm. (0.1772 in.)
Outer material Textile: Nylon, Mesh
Inner material: Nylon
Insole: EVA
Outsole: TPR (Thermo Plastic Rubber)
Price: €5 (around $6.80)

*Weight and thickness are always measured without insole when possible (since I usually recommend losing the insole, thus making the shoe more minimal). The weight is found using electronic scales from OBH that weigh down to 1 gram. The thickness is measured with a one-handed bar clamp. Thickness and especially weight are of course dependent on shoe size (See above).

The product

The water shoes reviewed here are made by the German company Nika Holding GmbH (maybe not the black ones, which I couldn’t find any info on). You can buy water shoes from all other kinds of producers, and they will probably do just as well (though the material may vary a lot – some water shoes are in plastic or rubber, others are made of more expensive materials that improve breathability). These specimens have a Thermo Plastic Rubber outsole (TPR), so if the review makes you want to buy some water shoes, you may want to notice this detail.

Variety of Aqua Shoes for barefoot running

Water shoes can be bought in malls or supermarkets and they are usually quite easy to acquire (otherwise: search the internet for “water shoes”, “water socks”, “surf shoes”, “bathing shoes”, or something similar). The shoes reviewed here were bought in the supermarkets Aldi and Ftex, and the price was fantastic: €5 (about $6.8)! At that price I could buy many specimens and still save money compared to buying a normal, cheap shoe. They are designed by the Textil-Schuh-Vertrieb department of Nika Holding, as far as I can figure (the wrapping says NIKA TSV), but exactly where they are made I can’t say for sure. If they are made in the EU the price is incomprehensible.

The fabric is soft and feels nice and the sole is very elastic. The shape of the shoe is too pointy, though – not much room for your toes. Overall the shoe looks very cheap (which it is – it even comes in a plastic bag), and you can’t keep from wondering how long they will last before falling apart (we will return to this in a moment).

Packaging for aqua shoes

Use

I have used the water shoes both for trekking, running, and normal walking around. The green ones have somewhat the look of a normal shoe because of their black outsole and sneaker looking design, so they have become my favourite walking shoes. People don’t turn their eyes.

Water shoes on feet

The blue ones have become my favourite running shoes. They fit very well and have a lot of net fabric – which means that they are a bit more breathable than the orange and black ones.

Wearing aqua shoes for barefoot running

The fabric tends to keep water or moisture inside the shoe, which means very warm feet – good when you bathe, but it causes very poor breathability. Some of them have net material that gives better ventilation, but overall your feet get hot inside the nylon fabric and the shoes get smelly quickly. They can be thrown into the washing machine, though. The fabric also works the other way around – repelling a small amount of water, so they will keep your feet somewhat warm during wintertime (they are not water resistant, though!).

Removable insoles in aqua shoes

Regarding flexibility they are as elastic as can be (they can be rolled up like a piece of paper – see image below). A thin Thermo Plastic Rubber sole makes your feet feel free and offers great contact with the surface. It is very skid resistant as well (they are supposed to keep you from falling when standing on wet surfaces) – but be aware of wet grass or slippery stones. It is a very good idea to lose the insole – A) because it wears out pretty quickly, B) because it keeps popping out of the shoe when running, C) because you get an even greater flexibility and surface contact without it.

Flexibility of aqua shoes

I was amazed how durable the shoes happened to be, thinking on their cheap look. The green ones fell apart pretty quickly (maybe a clear TPR sole is simply better than a black one), but the blue ones ended up lasting close to 1000 km. (621 miles), before openings appeared in the sole. 1000 km., with machine washing and all, is insane for a shoe that cheap. And the best part: The shoes only get better as they wear out – the sole becomes thinner and more lightweight along the way. An almost worn-out water shoe is simply a brilliant minimal shoe.

Tread wear on aqua shoes after running

Shoe wear on aqua shoes after running

One nice thing about your foot is its toes. They help you with that last bit of control over your feet. More room for the toes is a good thing – A) because it feels great, B) because squeezing them together makes them sweat more and gives your foot an ill form. In water shoes (at least these ones) your toes are neglected, unfortunately.

It should of course be mentioned that the water shoes are ultra light weight (especially without the insole). Taking off your normal shoes and slipping into these feels like being set free. Except for the toes that are being squeezed you don’t notice them. Also they are very easy to put on – no laces, just elastics (again, this may vary).

Tread on aqua shoes for barefoot running

If we consider walking in water shoes, let’s start by noting how pleasant they are to have on, which is mainly because of the soft fabric (no leather, no laces, and no stiff parts). However, using them for a whole day of walking is unwise, since your feet get burning hot and sweaty – even when you don’t use socks. But for short trips they work.

Running in water shoes is a really great experience. You will appreciate that they don’t weigh much more than your socks (which you can keep off, unless it gets really cold). If it was not for their poor breathability and the fact that your toes are pulled a bit together I would say that we almost have the perfect running shoe. They offer minimal protection, which is what we are looking for – meaning that they become a small piece of extra skin under your feet. Your skin still gets to toughen, which is especially important when running or walking barefooted. Leather skin is a must (though your zone therapist might not think the same).

Conclusion

[Rated: 8/10 Toes]

Water shoes with a TPR sole are optimal for front- or midfoot landing. They are a very good supplement to running barefooted. You rarely even notice that you are wearing them. But it is a downside that they are poorly ventilated, and I really wish I could find some specimens that were much wider in the front to keep my toes from being pulled together. But this is a problem with almost all shoes.

I would recommend water shoes for any use, though – as long as you don’t wear them for too long at a time. Overall, you simply can not complain about water shoes, their price considered. They are lightweight, they are flexible, and they get better the more you use them. They are a perfect example of a minimal shoe – even though they were not made for this particular purpose.

Finally, the TPR is a fantastic material. It is soft enough to let you feel every little dent in the surface, but it is incredibly hard to wear out. It acts like a perfect extension of the foot, and it is absolutely one of the best sole materials for minimal shoes, in my opinion.

Water shoes are a perfectly safe and minimal investment. Not much to lose, but plenty to gain.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author:Tue

a shoe reviewer interested in minimalistic footwear that allows the body to move naturally and injury-free.

68 Responses to “Review: Water/Aqua Shoes”

  1. April 21, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    Has anyone had any experience with “high end” water shoes?

    I was looking at something like the Teva Proton

    http://www.amazon.com/s/qid=1240340410/ref=a9_sc_1?ie=UTF8&search-alias=shoes&field-keywords=proton

    or a speedo surfwalker or seaside

    http://www.amazon.com/Speedo-Surfwalker-Water-Shoe-Mens/dp/B001GFHSJO/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=shoes&qid=1240340502&sr=1-6

    http://www.amazon.com/Speedo-Mens-Seaside-Black-Red/dp/B001IBIW28/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&s=shoes&qid=1240340502&sr=1-15

    I would really appreciate feedback on any of those shoes. Thanks! Keep up the great blog!

  2. Aigars Grins
    April 28, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    These read like a great find. However, I’m wonder where you got them? Googling on “Nika Holding GmbH” is’t” that helpful (since they are a financial holding company only). Do you have any idea of how to get them?

  3. admin
    April 29, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    @ Aigars : these specific water shoes may be difficult to find as they a seemingly “no name” branded pair purchased by Tue in Denmark. Look around for other aqua shoes/socks in your local shops or online. Happy trails, David.

  4. May 1, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    Great article. Just started barefoot running but as I run on trails and forest tracks quite a lot I wanted something minimal with a bit of protection – running on gravel is painful!!

    I went into a local sports shop and found a few pairs of aqua shoes, similar to the above but have a drawstring with toggle for a nice tight fit. They are made by Rucanor and amazon also have them here :-
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rucanor-Albufeira-Water-Sport-Shoes/dp/B001V8D3WM

    The shop has them in a couple of colour so bought one navy and one black for £20 – don’t know how long they will last by for that price you can’t go wrong.

    Shaun

  5. Ivonne
    May 10, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    I just bought some for $5.99 at Walgreens…they seem decent.

  6. May 22, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    My first pair of water shoes (called beachsocks at Target) were $5, and they were my first minimalist running shoes. They worked great for the month or two I was still getting up the nerve to actually run barefoot. I wore them again when it fell below freezing in the Winter. They didn’t work so well as Winter shoes, because they had holes in the bottoms and quickly soaked up slush and snow. I was able to find a pare of Speedo aquasocks for $20, and they were comparable, and had no holes in the bottom. Those became my winter shoes and are probably the best winter shoes I’ve had. I still prefer the shoeless approach when it’s not winter.

  7. Jake
    May 24, 2009 at 3:01 am #

    The combination of wool/fleece socks and watershoes works well in snow. If you step into some cold water, the water just drains out and your feet are warm again in 30 seconds.

  8. June 25, 2009 at 5:34 am #

    I’ve been running barefoot for a couple of months, and it’s been a great ride—-achilles tendonitis better than in decades, knees and back feeling great, healthy, aligned. Running mostly on urban sidewalk and street (my neighborhood’s pretty much glass-free….some gravel to watch out for is all). I bought some $10 water shoes from Target, after trying on Vibram Five Fingers at local outdoor store. I wasn’t all that impressed with Five Fingers at store. Not a great fit on the toes. Aqua shoes are just fine for when I’m traveling and need foot protection in unknown urban environments, or on trails or unknown grass (hitting hidden roots while running barefoot is no fun!).

    I must say here that nothing beats running BAREFOOT. No shoe is going to replace that joy. I’ve taken to carrying water shoes with me everywhere so I can go barefoot as much as possible. Pavement here gets mighty hot in Summer.

    Cheers from Nashville Tennesee.

  9. June 27, 2009 at 6:41 am #

    just took an hour and a half run/walk around evansville indiana in my target water shoes. not so great, I must admit. the insoles slide all around, and while i didn’t get blisters, i could feel them starting up. I am addicted to barefooting. Now even these thin water shoes make me feel like my running and walking form gets all screwed up—-I’ve noticed since I started running and walking barefoot that my posture has really improved. Barefooting seems to force one into really proper posture and form and thus makes the back, hips and knees feel really healthy. Not so much with the water shoes—–my achilles tendon is stiff and sore.

    my two cents on a blazing hot june day in indiana.

    maybe i can go barefoot later today in frankfort kentucky

  10. June 27, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    @willvis – despite aqua or water shoes being quite minimal, they’re not very practical. Insoles swim around, feet get sweaty (and stinky) and they stretch rather quickly and often feel like they’re falling off. The best solution I found to date are the Soft Start mocs. Happy trails, David.

  11. July 18, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    I replaced the insoles on my water shoes and they were fine on rocky trails in Rocky Mtn Nat’l Park.
    I still prefer barefoot whenever possible. Recently spent a work week in London, running and walking barefoot and then walking to work and back. My feet turned black really fast, but it was fine. I now have some Soft Star Mocassins and I think they will be great for colder weather and hotter pavement.

    I no longer get blisters at all from barefoot running, by the way. Just keep doing it and you will adjust. Go slow at first, take shorter runs, alternate running and walking. Stay on the cool pavement!

  12. William
    August 14, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    I have been running in water shoes for 2 months now and love it.

    My ankle no longer hurts and my knees are fine as well. I put “Shoe Goo” on the soles of my water shoes and they working great after 10-7 mile runs and playing many sets of tennis.

    My hat is off to those of you who go barefoot! Some day I will have to try that.

  13. Tavis
    August 24, 2009 at 5:41 am #

    I just bought a pair of Osprey “Hermosa” aqua shoes in the UK for £10. They have a nice amount of mesh in the upper, however they close with velcro so I don’t know how much mid-run maintenance will be needed when I finally get out in them. I have a HM in October and after that I’m going to start introducing short minimal-shod runs.

  14. John Kulik
    September 26, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    I’ve just started transistioning to minimalist running, and because I’m 56 I didn’t want to do too much too soon. I found some lace-up water shoes designed for canyoneering by The North Face called Dafda Boa’s.
    They have a flat heel, are super ventilated, and have about an eigth-inch rubber sole with low profile tread.
    Check them out on The North Face website. I’m not associated with The North Face – just love the shoes.

  15. William
    October 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    Hi,
    4 months now using water shoes reinforced with shoe goo. I have just climbed a pair of NH four thousand footers in them and they felt great. I purchased some kayaking boots I wore underneath my shoes which kept my feet warm in sub 32 degrees weather and they worked great for the water crossings. I was also wearing wool socks for warmth.

    I am using my water shoes playing tennis 4-5 hours per week as well and they are great. I am less likely to sprain my ankle in them. If a shoe company is reading this make some water type shoes with a little tread for the winter and give them a better sole so they won’t wear out so fast… Thanks!!!!

  16. chris harmon
    December 7, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    I just want to say that BodyGlove makes the perfect water shoe for “barefoot running”. I have tried on a few other brands, BodyGlove water shoes far surpass all other brands so far. The reason for this is that the toe area is nice and wide with a toe guard that is very minimal which you cannot feel so your toes feel great. The construction is very durable. I think the reason why the BodyGlove company makes them so durable and flexable ( the best flex I have ever felt) is because they are a surfing based company here on the coast in California . The surfing community will not stand for crap, like the shoes sold at Target or Walmart. The difference in quality is very obvious. As soon as you put them on, you will know. I got mine new for $20. I have been running for over a year with them on rocky trails here in the coastal chaperral country of Southern California. The soles are showing minimal wear much to my amazement.

  17. chris harmon
    December 7, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    The name of the Body Glove water shoe is called the “2mm water boot “. It is designed for wakeskating behind a ski boat. It is perfection for barefoot running! Look online at the BodyGlove.com website under wakeboarding wet suits.

  18. January 24, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Hi, I have a balance problem recently complicated by a broken foot & wearing a brace which requires a shoe. I am most comfortable & my b alance is best in bare feet. Not possible all the time as we all know. I have been wearing water, or aqua shoes for a long time. I couldn’t get them in mid winter, if you can call what we have in San Diego as winter. In my search, I ordered a pair from England called Osprey. I don’t like the top part. Its sort of a bonded foam impossible to get support. I don’t wear them. But they have these amazing non slip soles which I plan to cut off & glue on to another pair of my aqua shoes. The soles are clear, kind of rubbery. Does anyone have a suggestions where I could purchase these soles. Does anyone even know what they are called so I may be able to google them & find a source? I will be putting up a web site, Boomers4boomers which will be baby boomer products. I’d like to be able to offer these soles as well as have them for all my future aqua shoes. thx Inventing Joy caringpro@gmal.com

  19. Adam B
    February 27, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    This is for Chris Harmon, in regards to the Bodyglove 2mm Aqua Boot:

    Can you please tell me how they are sized? In other words, should I go a size bigger for running or stick with the same size as my regular walking shoes?

    Thanks.

  20. DBross7
    March 3, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    I’ve been using water shoes on the treadmill for a few months now over the winter. Absolutely love them. Keeps your feet burning up on the treadmill (unlike barefoot) and they are wonderful for doing hard hill and speed workouts on the treadmill. Best $9 investment!

  21. leslie
    June 13, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    I just used L L Bean water shoes–they have nice wide area for toes and seem pretty breathable. Ever since I read Born to Run it has seemed like a obvious idea, but only tried them today, and then I googled barefoot running with water shoes and found this site. I am delighted.

  22. Gemma Hawker
    July 1, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    I am relatively new to barefoot running and have so far only gone up to 7 miles. But after getting my heart set on VFF’s I came across this site and read some reviews and thought I should trial the aqua shoes to see if barefoot running is for me.

    I will never look back, I now own an array of colour of aqua shoes and each pair has their own benefits (80% netted/ventilated for hot days, grey ugly ones for wet days etc). I am now not sure if I want VFF’s at all now (having loooong toes, i always had my doubts) and running in aqua shoes just feels right. I’m light footed, faster and boy are my calfs more toned and stronger than ever. They really are a good investment and have started recommending people buy a pair just to try barefoot running at least once.

    I have since not had so much as a niggle since converting (after being unable to shake off post London Marathon injuries) and can really feel it when i switch to trainers for my long runs. It’s been 2 months now and I feel like that I am running correctly for what my body needs. I am hoping to run a half marathon in them in a month… yep a half marathon in my humble little aqua shoes… now i have to decide which colour!!

  23. July 4, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I’ve been running barefoot for 3 months now and have in a pair of generic aqua shoes I got a few years ago from Walmart for about $8. I’m up to 10 miles and they are great. They have a rubber sole, very thin. And my toes have plenty of room. I’d suggest trying on various pairs until you find one that has a wide enough toe box. I’ve put over 200 miles on them so far and they show almost no wear.

  24. Greg
    July 9, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    i just destroyed the pair of water shoes that i got a week ago, i went for a 4.5 hour run/hike up in the mountains mostly dirt some rocks, when you purchase make sure that the sole is solid rubber and not coated inrubber with some weird stuff inside, although the 20 or so miles that i did put in on them were great

  25. rui
    July 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    one pair of black rucanor water shoes .And one pair of SEAC shoes with the soles like the ones in the pictues above -made in china.-7.90 euros -bought both in decathlon

  26. Sandy
    July 28, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    In my first week transitioning to barefoot street running, and I’m so glad to have found this review ~ my feet are wrecked. Vibrams look terrific but seem a little steep, and as my feet are pretty small (6.5 US), I have trouble getting a decent fit. I can’t wait to try this out ~ I’m going to look for a pair tomorrow!

  27. August 21, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    Proper thanks are due for this awesome article. I’ve read id for a few months now plus they are always very informative. Thanks!

  28. Angelina Zajc
    August 31, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    This makes me think I didn’t know anything about it.. Need to read up more..

  29. chelsey
    September 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Hi barefoot pals,

    While browsing the web, found more interesting research on barefoot running and conversations with Lieberman from Harvard University about minimalist shoes. Thought you might be interested !

    http://www.stevenrobbinsmd.com

  30. October 8, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    lol. keep it away. come on

  31. October 8, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    “Perfume : any smell that is used to drown a worse one” Elbert Hubbard

  32. October 21, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    :O So mush Info :O … THis Is he MOst AMAzing SIte DUDe…

  33. November 7, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    I totally agree with your opinion. Thanks! I really enjoy it! Great! Your report feels like an A.You’re amazing. That’s big help for me. Your atical is really surprising.Your artical is great! The article is very helpful to me. After read it, I think a lot.You are tops. I admire you. The content is very exciting and I can almost understand.

  34. November 14, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    it sometimes difficult to select the right kind of mens clothing but there are helpful buying guides on the internet ,”:

  35. December 31, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    This sense of achievement is highlighted by the growing demand for reborn dolls by collectors about the planet. You should be cautious on the quality, material employed for producing doll and kind of outfits used inside the reborn baby. These lifelike babies are for all age groups.

  36. January 5, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Osprey products reviews for you to check out

  37. Chris Harmon
    January 12, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    It has been a while since I last was on this site. I just want to say that Bodyglove changed there old wakeboard water shoe design. It is not as good as the old design. I called the company to inform them about how incredible their old design was. This was about a year ago.
    I have since custom altered a pair of O’neill split toe surf booties that are fantastic. The best so far. My toes are too long for the Vib. Five Fingers so I have been experimenting with different designs and makes of water shoes.
    Recently, I was blessed to be interviewed by a great journalist, Manny Lopez, who featured me in a barefoot running article in The North County Times. There is a picture of me running with my O’neils not the Five Fingers pictured beside my picture. The article is really well written. If you’re interested in reading it just google “Chris Harmon, barefoot running”.
    Also, to answer a question about sizing your shoes, go with a comfortably snug fit. I usually wear a US 11 in a regular running shoe. I have gone down one full size to US 10 which is a perfect fit. I love the O’neill split toe design because it lets my big toes act freely so they can grab the trail surface better. Awesome!!!

  38. KP
    January 26, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Great article, I was looking at VFF’s until I cam across your site.
    I can now buy 10 pairs of aqua shoes vs 1 pair of VFF’s.

    thanks

  39. March 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    do you use aqua shoes when you are competing?

  40. May 10, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Nice article. I have a new pair lying around that I never used and bought for something else about a year ago. As I need to get back to running, I might try them and see what that does. Don’t feel too confident to actually run barefoot…

  41. May 11, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Ok, I know nobody is reading these updates anymore… And why should you, this blogpost is over a year old. But anyway, I tried it today. I wore the water shoes I purchased at ALDI a year ago. I decided against starting out with a run and opted to walk to the office in them for a start. The office is a mere 2 kilometers away from my house, but before I made it there, I already had a big blister on my achilles tendon. And I have never had blisters on my feet ever before. Anyway, it caused me to walk back home barefoot. Never thought I’d try that and it wasn’t all that bad. Not sure if I want to do that again though… And no running yet.

  42. B
    June 21, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Great article. I am very new to barefoot running, so I was really looking for a cheap “shoe” to get me started. I can attest to the quality and fit of Body Glove’s water shoes. I have been using a pair of Body Glove Riptides with no problems at all. They are extremely flexible, breathable, and light weight. I wear a 4E width shoe and have no problem fitting comfortably into the Riptides. For $9.99, I don’t see myself buying into the need to run in anything else.

    Aside from the plug for Body Glove shoes, I have been blown away with barefoot running thus far. I have a fairly extensive list of biomechanical inefficiencies (flat feet, pigeon toed, and overpronation, which leads to shin splints, hip pain, back pain, foot pain, heel spurs, and an incredible amount of frustration) that I had previously tried to correct through different shoes and equipment. When I began reading about barefoot running, I had to give it a shot. So far the aches and pains that I have become so accustomed to putting up with have been fading away. I am running farther and faster, but even best of all I’m having fun doing it. Being a big guy/ meat head (6′ 260lbs), I thought barefoot running couldn’t possibly be for me. I could not have been more wrong.

  43. July 2, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Interesting article and a great alternative for anyone looking to cut the cost of their running.
    Obviously, the usual caveats apply as they do to any minimalist shoes: they allow a runner to cover greater distances than they would be able to if running barefoot and therefore the necessary transition or adaptation can be cut short. This sounds great, but we do need this time to adapt, and therefore their use should be strictly limited in the early stages.

  44. July 17, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    have you tried sockwa? they are similar to water shoes, have a snug fit, thin sole, and wide toebox area. i have had a pair for about two weeks now and they far surpass my vibrams in barefoot feel. vibrams actualy feel like they constrict the movement of my toes…with sockwa when i take off each stride my toes spread apart just as if i were barefoot. i love them.

  45. mike
    January 20, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Do those blue water shoes have a name? I would like to pick up a pair, but I cant seem to find them. A manufacturer & model would be of great help.

  46. J.T.H.R
    February 10, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    You should all go and have a look at the “Jobe Aqua Shoe” by the company Jobesports.

    It’s come to be second to none to me as a running shoe…

    Like all water shoes, they’re maybe not too good in really warm weather, but from freezing winter to comfortable they lack in nothing..

    I have also tried various other “aqua shoes”, but they always leave room for improvements, like the proverbial toe-squashing, or the sole that’s too stiff, or the stiches that are too flimsy.

    Not with the Jobe shoes, they ROCK!

    I can honestly say that this is the only shoe (for me at least) I have ever run in and felt like it was better than barefoot…

    My trusted NEo’s from Tera Plana Vivobarefoot fades in comparison and almost never sees any trail time at all any longer, plus I can buy eight pairs of Jobe’s for the price of a single pair of Neo’s..

    Yes, I predict that this company will receive a lot of attention from the minimalist running community in the near future… XD

  47. January 7, 2013 at 1:42 am #

    What’s up colleagues, how is all, and what you desire to say about this post, in my view its genuinely amazing in favor of me.

  48. Perry
    February 22, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    What’s with all of these high-priced and fancy-sounding shoes, including “aqua shoes”?

    I have a $5 pair of aqua shoes I got from Walmart. It’s just rubber bottom and nylon mesh.

  49. Perry
    February 27, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    I just got back from the shoe store that has a line of these shoes. $80, on up, Wow.

    I compared them with my regular ol’ flat-footed sneakers shoes that doesn’t have an arch, and I don’t see any difference. Flat is flat.

    There are a lot of sneakers, beach shoes, sandals, shoes in general that have nothing to them, so what’s the big deal with these barefoot shoes???

    They bend just like our foot bends also.

  50. March 10, 2013 at 4:26 am #

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to
    my e-mail and could look out for much more of
    your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  51. April 24, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an
    e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  52. May 13, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here.

    I did however expertise some technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload
    the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  53. May 21, 2013 at 3:37 am #

    I seriously love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own personal blog and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called. Many thanks!

  54. May 24, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Hi there pretty cool web-site!! Man .. Fantastic .. Fantastic .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds

  55. October 26, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Many thanks!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?

    Also visit my weblog; 雑貨 特価 バーバリー

  56. October 26, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    I am really grateful to the holder of this web page who has shared
    this enormous post at at this place.

    Look into my website – nike 大人気

  57. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a
    amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

  58. October 28, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    write-up plus the rest of the website is also very good.

    my web blog :: 大人気 新着

  59. February 6, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    When you’re going to rent a comic, think about these tips as a useful guide, pointing in the fitting direction.
    Think of this as a way to document your improvements over time, and eventually it will
    be a very effective PR tool. Whether these are
    taken live – while you are doing a real gig – or whether you have them done on a false
    stage, will depend on you.

  60. March 1, 2014 at 5:31 am #

    In a world where everything is made possible because of technological advancements, extra precaution is also a
    necessary action to take. More money can be made through niche product marketing with products that people are genuinely interested in, rather than
    by trying to sell products like ring-tones and mobile phones that everyone else sells.
    Just like a coin has two sides, similarly facebook usage has two facets – Fun and
    Threat.

  61. March 22, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

    advertising and *********** with Adwords. Anyway I’m including this RSS
    to my e-mail and can glance out for a lot more of your respective
    interesting content. Ensure that you replace this
    again soon..

  62. April 4, 2014 at 3:12 am #

    It has gained notoriety due to its power to lessen the appearance of wrinkles within a a few seconds.
    The more you are going to remain calm in understanding the workability of this product, greater you will get clarity over the question,
    is. Most of the time, these tablets contain Acai berry, green
    tea extract as well as other anti-oxidants.

  63. April 9, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Your pc may very well be as utilized by the particular hacker to victimize other computers.
    It is straightforward to create the percentages be right for you inside the facebook poker chips method brief
    stack. More than that, you might have successfully created a bridge between
    your Wikipedia account to your other social networking accounts, thus opening more
    pathways for internet traffic that extends back and forth between
    your accounts.

  64. Melissa
    June 15, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    I’m so happy I found this!

    I went to Walmart to look for a minimal shoe, since I figured flats would be a good idea. I ended up finding water shoes and decided..why not?

    Then I came home to see if anyone else had already given it a go. This was just what I needed to get started running in my shoes! Also, they were only 5 $ I bought 4 pairs.

    As for ‘more room in the front’ I also found water shoes that have a webbed look that are wider in the front! They don’t actually have separate toes (because they’re too ‘cheap’) but they look like they do, which is a bit funny because I just wanted more room not the separate toes so they are perfect. You should check them out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update on Barefooting – James Robey - July 17, 2009

    [...] However, I have been going running regularly. I found that I would get blisters from running barefoot, so I have compromised and I am wearing really thin aqua shoes. [...]

  2. Shock: Water Socks Rock Block « Man… Or Amphibiman? - January 17, 2010

    [...] long story longer, I found a nifty page from one of the water shoe proponents here. I took the insole out of the shoe, threw on my Smartwool running socks, then the water shoes [...]

  3. Fitness With No Cash « From Scratch - January 22, 2010

    [...] I use a treadmill during the cold winters where I live, and I have a pair of thin, rubber-soled water socks from WalMart which I wear while I’m pounding the treadmill. Running without shoes is really hard [...]

  4. A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Treadmill | See Corens Run - April 12, 2014

    [...] I’ve been reading a lot about, what with the completely flat feet I have and all), people actually use these  instead of the more expensive minimalist running shoes. I’m going to try them here in a few, [...]

Leave a Reply