Review: Vibram FiveFingers Classic

Review, originally posted 2007-09-07 (Revised 2008-04-09) on tjespter.com

Style: Men’s & women’s
Sample Size: EU44 / UK10 / US10.5
Design: Vibram (Italy)
Country of production: Unknown
Weight per shoe*: 175 gr. (6.17 oz.)
Thickness of sole*: 4 mm. (0.15748 in. – measured at the front foot)
Upper material: Abrasion-resistant stretch polyamide fabric
Outsole: Vibram TC1 performance rubber compound
Price Around: €90. (In the US almost half price: $70 (around €51))

*Weight and thickness are always measured without insole when possible (since I usually recommend losing the insole, thus making the shoe more minimal). The weight is found using electronic scales from OBH that weigh down to 1 gram. The thickness is measured with a one-handed bar clamp. Thickness and especially weight are of course dependent on shoe size (See above). NB. FiveFingers have no removeable insole.

The Product

The product comes in a neat little cardboard box including a brief information/instruction pamphlet and a bag for storage. Reading the pamphlet, there’s no doubt about it: Vibram Fivefingers support the concept of this very site — they are minimal shoes for the barefoot people. This is a unique approach — different and innovative.

Vibram Five Fingers Classic Unboxing

A lot can be said about this approach. There definitely is a market for a shoe with a philosophy like this, if we consider the barefoot wave, including Pose Method running and Chi running etc. There are also the whole health, nature and wellness segments (including sports in general), which could be possible target groups. Finally there are the fashion aspect — considering the different color combinations available, for instance. Could FiveFingers become fashion? Perhaps — they absolutely do look different, which could appeal to some fashion avant-gardists (I promise: people will look at your FiveFingers and even ask you about them. Not saying that I’m avant-garde (which I’m definitely not)).

Two styles of Vibram Five Fingers Classic

If we consider the design of the FiveFingers, there are several distinct features. They don’t look like any normal shoe, first and foremost due to the sole (which more or less makes the whole shoe). It is shaped like a foot and is supposed to wrap around you like a thin protective layer of rubber. Sounds good so far, considering that this is what we want when acquiring a shoe for our purpose: just a little protection that doesn’t interfere with our feet’s abilities or functions. Also, the sole is very flexible and you quickly notice the small grooves in the material. They are probably there to make the material more elastic or perhaps just for the looks, because the sole is just as flexible where there aren’t any grooves (under the toes and the arch of the foot). The same can be said about the notches near the edges around the sole. They are supposed to increase skid resistance, but their seize and depth considered they probably won’t make a difference in this aspect. Finally you notice that the sole is supposed to look like a foot from underneath. The parts supporting the heel, the ball of the foot and the toes are raised.

Soles of Vibram Five Fingers Classic

Close-up of Vibram Five Fingers Classic sole

The upper material is glued to the sole, which makes sense. It reduces irritating joints and there is plenty of surface for affixing. The inner part (not exactly an insole) is a suede-like material and it is quite pleasant (without being too soft). Besides the sole wrapping around your foot, an elastic band helps keeping the shoe in place and it can be loosened and tightened for better fitting. The toe slots are a very fine piece of needlework, and you wonder how long it took the designers to figure out exactly how to create pockets for the individual toes. They succeeded, though, and the product overall seems very sturdy.

The Vibram FiveFingers are light, flexible and innovative shoes indeed. From the mere looks, the touch and the feel they come out as a very inviting product. So let’s see how they do in practice.

Use

I’ve had the FiveFingers Classic for more than 3 months now (I bought the first pair in May 2007) and I have used them for both walking and running. I first discovered them in a short article in a Danish science magazine and waited patiently for their arrival on the Danish market.

The feeling of having your toes move independently is great. A whole new world opens up, and you start thinking of shoes in a completely different way. I have no idea whether or not the Italian company, Vibram, was the first to adopt the idea but they have definitely succeeded in mass producing it (I saw another product they made that resembles the FiveFingers, but I don’t know how far they got with that). A minimal shoe with toes is a nice idea, though it’s not the only way of having your toes move freely. A big problem with normal shoes is that they generally don’t allow your toes enough room, which is really weird, when you think about it. How did the idea that our feet were supposed to be pointy arise?

Barefoot in white Vibram Five Fingers Classic - Side View

Barefoot in white Vibram Five Fingers Classic

Anyway, separate toes in shoes is interesting, and FiveFingers really help your feet to a better shape. But there is an issue. Because the sole extends way over your toes and because your feet tend to slide forward in the shoes, your toenails are squeezed a bit. It made me change to a bigger size, but it didn’t help. And the elastic band can’t save you here (the built-in straps in big brother FiveFingers Sprint could prevent this).

Another problem is the fact that the flap in the rear end of the shoe irritates you (the one that keeps the elastic band on the outside – see picture below). It crawls way too high up your Achilles tendon, which is one of the primary things usual running shoes try to avoid (we will return to this in a moment). Even the much cheaper Nika Holding water shoe avoids this. FiveFingers are also way more palpable. You are never in doubt that you have something attached to your feet.

Heel of Vibram Five Fingers Classic

Yet another issue I found is that the raised part on the sole underneath the ball of your foot becomes way too tangible when running fast. You risk getting accumulations of blood along the line that the raised part forms before the toes (not that this is such a serious matter in itself – blood accumulations can happen very easily when running barefooted as well — but I just don’t like the feeling of this slightly raised part of the shoe). This only happens when sprinting, which is why I avoid FiveFingers for interval training. I wish they would have made the sole completely flat. It would have been much smarter, considering the thinness of the sole. Also, I feel that this raised part forces your feet a bit outwards when landing.

Due to the low weight and the flexibility running in FiveFingers feels much freer than conventional running shoes, though. And they offer more protection than the Nika Holding water shoes, because of the harder sole. The hardness has yet another benefit, because your skin really gets used inside the shoe. It becomes tough almost as quickly as running completely barefooted. A downside is that the sole becomes more tangible.

So how did I end up incorporating FiveFingers in my daily life? Well, first and foremost they have become some of my favorite minimal shoes for mere walking. I like their good breathability (they do hold a bit of smell, though) and the fact that the toes are kept apart. The black pair I have even looks quite neutral with my black Feelmax toe socks that I bought for the very purpose of being able to use socks with FiveFingers (yes, neutrality is a nice thing, if you find incredulous glances a bit annoying in the end. But in a way it is a bit funny as well). As a shoe for walking they are just perfect. You don’t feel all those irritating things that become apparent when running.

Barefoot in black Vibram Five Fingers Classic

Barefoot in black Vibram Five Fingers Classic - Side View

This certainly doesn’t mean that you can’t run in them. If I hadn’t discovered other alternatives, I would have been much less critical. They score very high on weight, breathability, flexibility (see picture below) and even on skid resistance (not because of the so-called “razor-siped” parts of the sole, though, but because the sole has an overall good surface contact — even when it rains). And they are innovative, almost a stroke of genius, and in my opinion very healthy, because of the consideration for the shape of your feet. They are also durable — they still look almost new when they come out of the washing machine. Overall very good quality, though the price is too high in Europe. Half of the price is the concept, I think. It’s definitely not the amount of material.

Vibram Five Fingers Classic collapsed

So what you get is a healthy minimal shoe (if you believe that a thin sole and a natural shape is beneficial) that, besides some smaller annoyances, feels very comfortable. Considering that the shoes are so different and innovative I actually think that the Vibram Company pulls it off. There’s no doubt however, that they overdid the bottom of the sole. I think they tried to make it look cool, but it would have become much more usable if it was just flat. And the tall rear-end is a flaw, because the back of your feet is a very sensible place — it is a soft region that flexes all the time when you move — and especially shoes for running should keep a low rear profile (remember that not only is the rear flap high it is also made of somewhat hard rubber, which makes you feel it more). The elastic band also irritates you a bit, and I actually think that the shoe would have worked better if it just closed around your feet a bit higher up, like the Nika Holding water shoe. The upper material had to be more flexible though, and consequently more vulnerable, perhaps, or less breathable. And FiveFingers look cooler with their open design, I think.

Mens Vibram FiveFinger Sprint
Mens Vibram FiveFinger KSO
Womens Vibram FiveFinger Classic
Mens Vibram FiveFinger Classic

Conclusion

[Rated: 5/10 Toes]

I want to love the FiveFingers Classic because of the unique concept and the courageous step towards actually producing the shoes and distributing them. And I do love them, but with reservations. Considering the bottom of the sole, I imagine that Vibram thought too much of the expression of the shoes, and thus made them less practical (not deliberately, of course. Maybe they just put too much effort into making them look like an actual foot). Some design features reveal this. The overall problem with Fivefingers is the feeling. They just look better than they feel. Imperceptibility isn’t the keyword describing your feet’s connection with FiveFingers, though some features support it (as a whole there is also too much rubber around your foot, so I guess it is a matter of preferences. I like to step on the sole, not have the sole wrapped around me (unless it is soft, like in Feelmax shoes). This particular problem would regard the Sprint model as well. I understand the idea, though, because the extended rubber protects the upper material and helps making the shoe more durable).

A unique thing, however, is that your toes are forced apart — in a good sense. And the front is very wide — just like your feet are. In my opinion they are healthy and perfect for walking. They are just not that good a running experience, although they have a lot of cool characteristics.

When it comes down to it, FiveFingers are a highly subjective experience. It is hard to say some general things about them, simply because they are so different. However, this is their actual force. This is why people would want to try them. You chiefly buy an experience. To return to the new world, that I mentioned opens up in front of you: FiveFingers make you realize that shoes can be so many things. I really hope that this innovative wave rubs off onto other manufacturers. I would like to see both well-established and whole new companies try a lot more unusual ideas.

Finally, it should be mentioned that the Sprint model seems more comfortable and less likely too fall off your feet (It can happen with the Classic model), so if you want a more practical minimal shoe choose this one. The bad news is that it is even more expensive.

Support Barefoot Runner and use our link to find your Vibram FiveFingers at Amazon.com

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Author:Tue

a shoe reviewer interested in minimalistic footwear that allows the body to move naturally and injury-free.

102 Responses to “Review: Vibram FiveFingers Classic”

  1. FiveFingerFan
    April 29, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Those interested in running in Vibram Five Fingers should go for the KSO model. The KSO model straps securely to your feet, and includes a mesh addition to the upper, to literally “Keep Stuff Out.” I ran off trail through the woods in a pair all last summer, and plan on doing the same this year.

    The Classic was not developed for running. It was intended to be a water shoe. The Sprint was Vibram’s accommodation to the barefoot runners when they realized they existed. The KSO builds further on that.

  2. May 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    I just got my pair of VFF Classic’s – went for a 2 mile run and absolutely loved the feeling! Euphoric!

    However, my heel near the achilles tendon started to rub raw a bit. I think the heel is too loose and I need to get a smaller sized shoe.

    I would advise anyone getting these to make sure you visit a store and get a sizing done!

    They will probably run a size smaller than your typical running shoe.

  3. Eric
    June 11, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    I just did my first half-marathon in a pair of Sprints, and am doing Ironman CDA in them in a couple weeks. I think they’re great for long-distance running. I also echo the previous comments about sizing in real life- the first pair I ordered online were too long, even though I followed their fit guide.

  4. June 22, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    I own 2 pairs of the VFF KSOs and there terrific. I run up to 8 miles in them consistently. I’ll also mix VFF and barefoot running in some sessions. They fit perfect to my actual shod size. I can’t say enough good things about them. Only negative is wet conditions. I’ve included the Injini socks for colder days and they worked pretty good although I prefer not wearing socks.

  5. June 24, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    I’ve been doing my plyometrics, sprint workouts, and nearly all of my weight training in the Five Finger Sprints. Barefoot is still better in my opinion, but my soles get pretty raw after a barefoot run around the track. My biggest gripe, besides the inevitable smelliness of the Five Fingers after a few workouts, is that despite the fastening system of the Sprints, they do slide around a bit during strafing and pivoting movements, especially on hot days when my feet perspire more.

  6. John Short
    June 25, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    I read the book “Born to Run” where Barefoot Ted recommended these and I immediately went out and bought the KSO’s, Sprints for the wife. There are not enough good words I can say about them! I am new to this “barefoot” thing and look forward to using the KSO’s as a stepping stone to go all the way naked footed! I also orded a pair of the minimalist sandal BFT sales on his website to get further adjusted to barefoot running. I probably run a bit with the barefoot style, that being a fore foot striker, but over years of wearing more and more cushioned shoes to avoid injury, I am ready to try anything, and going with nothing on my feet makes more sense than $200 shoes that are killing my long term running goals!

  7. June 25, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    http://www.runcolo.com/Product-Reviews/Vibram-Five-Fingers.html

    Great pictures and write up. I never thought about trying the injini socks with them.

  8. June 27, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    I have been running for a month in the Vibram Five Fingers Classics.

    They feel great, but I do get some chaffing on my achilles. It actually gets quite uncomfortable after an hour of walking or a few miles of running. I’ve starting using a strip of medical tape on my achilles to keep the chaffing down.

    Anyone else have this problem with the shoes?

    I know these are the right size….so maybe the heel cup on these are just too big for my feet?

    All the best.

    Ravi

    Just posted some thoughts on barefoot running/Vibram FiveFingers on my blog @ http://www.sethigherstandards.com/barefoot-running-vibram-five-fingers-are-worth-it/

  9. Jordan
    June 27, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    I have a pair of sprints. I bought via mail order and the size is correct, but my baby toes hurt I think due to my foot shape being on the thinner side. On matching my foot profile with the sole I notice the width of the the shoe is actually pulling/forcing my toes to spread too wide (this kind of goes against one of the pros in the article). I am annoyed because I feel they would be bloody fantastic for the right foot type. Unfortunately I just can’t take the pain of my black baby toes even after only 10kms anymore.

  10. Rich
    July 4, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    I use the Sprints for 45 minutes on elliptical trainer, and they are perfect for that. They are perfect workout shoes for road warriors.

    But I wouldn’t wear them for longer than an hour. I do feel some pressure on the top of the big toenails and sense I would get a blackened toenail if I wore them all day. In that sense, the FiveFingers must be “broken in” like any footwear.

    With the FiveFingers, it’s important to keep your toenails trimmed.

  11. Dean Lhospital
    July 27, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    I’m a veteran triathlete, but I busted out my FiveFinger Sprints for the first time in a race yesterday. I’ve been training in them for about a month. They more than adequately handled a very difficult 10k trail run. Overall, I ended up in much better shape than my last race, which I ran in Nike Free cross-trainers. In the Frees, I chafed the hell out of both insteps. Bleeding, in fact. This time, no blisters except for, like Ravi above, I had some mild chafing in my left achilles. Not terrible, in fact, I didn’t even feel it during the run itself, but afterwards it’s nagging me a little bit. I think he’s right that even with wide feet, the heel cup ends up being a bit roomy.

  12. July 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Hi Tue,

    Hope you’re still enjoying the FiveFingers. I certainly have. Unfortunately they seemed to have a defect though and have started to fall apart! I wrote a review to explain here: http://www.christopherrcooper.com/blog/4/barefoot-running-in-the-vibram-fivefingers.html

  13. July 30, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Just wanted to let you guys know that I included a link to your post here in a post that we did on the best information and reviews on the Vibram FiveFingers. Thanks for the great info and sharing it here. It’s helping out a lot of people! http://funcfash.com/2009/07/best-reviews-opinions-and-information-on-vibram-fivefingers/

  14. Mo
    August 5, 2009 at 5:42 am #

    My second toe is about 1 cm longer than my big toe. By the looks of the Five Fingers this might be a problem. Has anyone with a longer second toe used them?

  15. Anthony
    August 7, 2009 at 2:04 am #

    I’ve been becoming interesting in running barefoot, and I was wondering if you would just consider running barefoot (whenever possible– I live in the Great Plains, and the winters here are definitely not barefoot-friendly), and using these types of “shoes” for everyday activities?

  16. August 7, 2009 at 6:14 am #

    @Anthony, yes, running/walking/training whenever possible (and safe) is always best! When I lived in Alberta Canada I faced the same problem with cold/long winters — Vibram is coming out with new models in the coming months that may better suite your climate.

  17. Sunny
    August 11, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    My second toe is a bit longer than my first and I don’t have ANY problems with them. I have the Sprint model and LOVE them. I’d say it’s important though to try them on before hand to make sure the fit is good. I typically have massive knee joint inflammation after walking for hours on end on concrete…tested them out this weekend at the State Fair… I fell asleep that night with minimal muscle sorness in my calves. The next morning I woke up just fine. It was great not to have knee pain for once. Oh, and I have had the back rub o my achilles but after they were broken in it’s really not an issue anymore.

  18. Katherine
    August 20, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    I have the sprints and the KSOs and I love them both. The KSOs are much more comfortable, I feel like I could wear them forever and never have any chafing or rubbing. I have been running in them for a little over a month now and feel stronger and more in control during my runs. Love it!

    I do not have the longer second toe issue, but I read a great, very detailed blog entry about finding the right Five Finger model and fitting tips that has a lot of advice specifically for people with longer second toes. Here’s the link:

    http://www.begin2dig.com/2008/11/fitting-vibram-five-fingers-and-injinji.html

    Good luck!

  19. August 27, 2009 at 6:49 am #

    Great review! I have a pair of the Sprints and love them. I’ve seen that there is due to be a new style dedicated to runners coming soon which i can’t wait for!

    You can actually get the VFF’s with a 20% discount until 1st September 2009 from lovethoseshoes.com , just quote 5FINGERS at the checkout

  20. lucky38
    August 31, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    Have been trail running in my KSO’s for two months now and have had no chaffing, no rubbing, no blisters – nothing. They fit like a glove. I throw them in the washing machine, delicate cycle every other week, and have had no odor issues. I made the mistake of hiking on Sunday with husband and dogs in my “regular” running shoes and my toes started going numb, so I’ll go back to the KSO’s. The KSO’s truly are a marvel for me.

  21. D-UNIT
    September 10, 2009 at 1:55 am #

    I have had the sprints for 3 months now and worked up to about 8 mile runs. normally on the road but i have also done sprints on treadmills etc. i love them…i just collected my classics today, for everyday use really…
    aside from the fact they STINK, which after a few runs they do (and even washing them doesn’t fully sort that out) i think they are a revolution. get some comments about how they look…people either love or hate them…

    thinking about trying to run a half marathon in them…tho i am not sure my calves can take the distance.

    i had knee problems after doing a lot more running post rugby career, but since have these, that has completely subsided…as i say calf stiffness is the only side-effect, and that has reduced significantly. just need to take your time breaking them in.

    Love live the Vibram

  22. Speedkills7
    September 13, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    I was always pretty annoyed with wearing my heavy golf shoes so I decided last weekend to wear some Vibrams KSO model. It was the most fun I have had in a long time playing golf. There is something amazing about walking over a long terrain of nice grass almost barefoot.

    Vibrams for Golf ROCK!

  23. John Y.
    September 17, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    I have run in the VFF Classics for 3 years now, and there are a few niggles I need to address:
    First, buy one size smaller if, like me, you have a narrow heel. Your achilles tendons will not rub raw as mine did.
    Second, if you do buy one size smaller, the toes will be VERY snug. You will be aware of how the shoe feels, as you will feel it over every square inch of your foot. You probably won’t need the elastic cord too much until you run in a driving rain or through deep water.
    Third, they are not sufficient for colder weather. Below 40 F, my toes just don’t hang around anymore. Vibram produces a shoe for the winter, which I will be trying this year.
    I still run in my first pair, but I have become acquainted with tubes of Shoe-Goo to beef up the forefoot from time to time. I estimate that I have easily 1000 miles on this pair alone (I have 3 pair, with 1 pair bought in July). Finally, be prepared to answer tons of questions. Most prevalent of which will be the ubiquitous, “Don’t your feet hurt???”

  24. hayman
    October 11, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    hey john.. would you say the KSO’s and the sprints fit the same way as the classics?

    D-Unit, I’d suggest washing it every week.. not in the washer like this post suggest, but maybe hand washing with detergent and water..

    A decent blog with info about the vibrams is here, I’d like to hear more about fitting though, thats always a concern:

    http://barefootrunningshoes.org/vibram-fivefingers/

  25. VFF KSO
    October 17, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    I would also highly recommend the KSO for any form of hiking/running- Any outdoor activity. I’ve had my KSO for two years now and I still tell anyone who asks that they are well worth the purchase. I hike in them, go running in the city with them, go whitewater rafting in them. They are so versatile. I like the KSO model because they can be used for almost anything. You can tighten the strap over the top of your foot if your doing something that requires a tighter feel. Or you can loosen it for a casual hike. VFF all the way!

  26. Huston
    October 19, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    The sprints are a bit more adjustable than the KSOs. I really wanted KSOs but my small toes are apparently rather short compared to my big toe and I couldn’t get the right fit. The Sprints have two adjustable straps (one across the top, a separate one around the heel) and the KSOs have one strap that encircles your ankle.

    I am wearing them only for short periods to start off with as I feel that I’d get black toe in no time as well, but my feet are getting used to them pretty quickly. Definitely not equal to being barefoot, but where I live I wouldn’t risk going naked.

  27. Mr. H.
    October 20, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    I bought my pair of KSO’s about 3 wks ago. I’m very impressed. I’d been out of running for a while and simply wanted to try something new for my return. Barefoot running in the VFF was a good choice, however I can’t speak for outside running. I’ve been doing treadmill running only with KSO. I’m not courageous enough to brave rocks and twigs- give me time. I’ve also experienced some small toe discomfort, but I’m not overly concerned weighed against the positives. Full gym work plus treadmill, ellyptical, and stepmill have all been very good. The best part about the shoes are the ridiculous looks I get at the gym- classic! lol
    Thanks for listening.
    First time here.
    Great website!

  28. quesionforya
    October 21, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    d unit, question, you’ve had the sprints for 3 months and you run 8 miles at a time in them.. how are they holding up and what would you average the mileage you get for a week. I really want to know how durable these things are… they seem great but will I have to replace them all the time? If I do then I may just get nike free’s I saw on barefootrunningshoes.org

    there was a good comparison on both nike frees and vibrams fivefingers that might be useful to some.

  29. Ru Bear
    October 27, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    Love the site, and enjoyed the review… very helpful as I am researching barefoot running before jumping in with both (bare) feet, and so I’m looking also at minimalist running shoe options.

    My comment is this – why choose the Classic when even Vibram don’t suggest it for running? Was it that it was their most minimalist shoe – and therefore would be closest to the barefoot experience? Why not get and review the KSO or the Sprint? Looking at http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/productSupport/usage.cfm it seems that these are more suitable models – that are more suitable for road or trail running – and a wider variety of other activities.

  30. October 29, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    @Ru Bear : Vibram’s FiveFingers were never designed for running. They were designed as boating/yachting shoes. Vibram was concerned of liability and thus their initial shyness towards using them as minimal running footwear. Since the explosion of barefoot running in 2008 they’ve taken an aggressive position as a barefoot running alternative company. I own a pair of classics and although they’re okay for running, I like many wearers find them to irritate the back of the heel (achilles) way too much. Happy trails.

  31. Cleveland John
    October 30, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    Great reviews and love my new KSO’s but have developed a bit of a problem. Unlike others, I’ve had no issues with the ashilles (thankfully) and have gone through the expected muscle development in the calves. I’ve taken them for a couple 5k’s and when I’m done the skin on the bottom of the big toes and balls of my feet is pretty raw to the point that it’s sensitive for the next few days. Any suggestions? Thanks

  32. October 30, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    @Cleveland John : Sounds like too much too fast. Reduce your mileage and listen to your body. Enjoy the run and don’t stress if you’ve done enough distance. Happy trails!

  33. outdoorkids
    November 24, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    My son and daughter both have a pair of the sprints. I washed them in the washing machine on delicate cycle with just water and vinegar. I didnt measure the vinegar I just dumped it in. It seemed to do the trick.

  34. December 3, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    I have been distance running for 45 or so years, and would never have tried minimalist running shoes.

    However, my dog tripped my as I was jumping a downed tree on a trail run, and I landed hard: dislocated a finger and bruised my hip. Long story short, developed plantar fasciitis a month later. Got it somewhat under control a year later, read Born to Run, trid KSO’s and can’t believe it.

    First run was 5.5 miles in mud, through creeks, stepp hills, and final half mile down railroad grade with sharp rocks. No issues. KSO’s are simply amazing. No heel pain with shortened stride and more vertical body position. Strike pattern changes from heel to mid foot.

    Amazing, and I can’t believe these actually work!

  35. Cam
    December 28, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    I have been wearing VFF’s for about a year – building mileage and the only challenge is right calf pain. Never anywhere else except the right calf. Any suggestions on form.

    Also I have found two great ways to clean and “freshen” my VFF’s. Both require a second pair while the other is drying.

    The first one is easy – squirt some shampoo or shower gel in them and wear them in the shower. While washing the rest of you all you need to do is wiggle your feet and toes. Make sure to rinse well after and let them air dry.

    Second – soak overnight in mild detergent – then wash with towels – add a half cup of white ammonia to the wash. Your VFF’s and your towels come out fresh and clean.

  36. December 29, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    @Cam : sore calves are normal as you transition to a midfoot/forefoot gait. Continued calf pain may be a sign that you are landing on your toes too much. Try to bend your knees, keep your torso vertical and land on your entire foot surface. Happy trails!

  37. Lester Bolt
    January 3, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Bought them today…went for an easy 9. First 5 felt like I was a Navi from Avatar. Then the water blisters on the big toes stopped everything. Walked home barefoot for the remainder 4. My foot looks like toes looked like minced meat. Is this a matter of breaking in the shoe or will this continue for long runs?

    thank you.

  38. Tim
    January 5, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Lester, you might want to try barefoot running when you get some warm weather. go slowly and learn technique first. The reason I don’t like my VFFs is that they stink so badly. I run 4-6 miles a day on trails through mud and so forth, and the VFFs stink so badly that I have to wash my feet immediately upon getting home, even though I would rather go right into 45 minutes of yoga. My forward bends bring my nose down close to my stinking feet, and it is really bad. IMHO anyone serious about minimalist running should learn how to run barefoot, and then get something like the Soft Star mocs if they want cold weather protection or protection against the pokeys while trail running. Pavement running is far easier barefoot, and if it were not for the cars, I would stick to pavement in bare feet.

  39. KSO John
    January 21, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I’ve had my KSO’s for 3 months now and couldn’t be happier. With my expensive Asics I would get blisters, shin splints, sore back and a number of other things that made me really not want to run ever again. All of that has gone away since I bought the KSO’s. They fit like a glove. I’ve been logging about 50 – 60 miles per month in them now and am looking forward to doing my first marathon and Olympic Triathlon in them sometime this summer. Running is fun again.

    It took me about 1 month to break them in but now I wear them all day long with no troubles at all. I live in Wisconsin and wasn’t sure how they would be in the cold weather but incredibly there isn’t any difference from what I experienced with 2 pair of socks crammed inside of my old running shoes. There is no doubt that your toes will be cold if not numb for the first 1-2 miles but once your core warms up your body will send circulation back to your toes and they thaw and remain very comfortable throughout the remainder of the run. 5 degrees was the coldest I’ve run in thus far (the wind chill was much colder) and at that point in time it’s really not about your feet but whether or not your lips are going to fall off.

    When you first start running in them you will notice that your stride is shorter but faster. You land on your feet differently so your calves will feel like rocks for the first several runs. That feeling only seems to last for about 30 minutes and then your legs feel awesome. My 5k and 10k race times have gotten much better. I’m still building up mileage and the farthest I’ve gone is 8 miles in them but have every confidence that they will continue to perform well. The odor issue is easily solved by a quick wash. Overall I am extremely pleased with these shoes. Expect people to stare and ask questions but that is also part of the beauty of this footwear. Great job Vibram!

  40. Mario
    February 21, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    I am amazed how popular they got, when they are of SUCH POOR QUALITY. After a few months the seams around the big toes become loose and rip, and that’s only after moderate use, if you run in them they don’t last even that. Can you afford to spend a hundred dollars (or pounds/euros if you’re in Europe) for a pair of shoes every 2 months just to look different?

  41. Nebraska Mike
    March 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    @Mario, not sure which shoes you’re talking about. My KSO’s seem to be fine when it comes to quality. As for the price, I don’t know where you bought yours, but mine were only $80, which is comparably cheaper than a high end pair of running shoes from a major manufacturer.

    I’ve had mine for just over 3 months now. It did take some getting used to. I hadn’t run in almost a year, so it was almost like starting fresh with the form. I wore them around the house for the first couple of weeks. The next two weeks were short 1 -1.5 mile runs. I woke up on the third week and almost couldn’t walk. All the tendons and muscles on the top of my feet were screaming. After about a week and a half of recovery, I’m up to 2.5 miles 3 times a week. For someone who never enjoyed running that is a big accomplishment. My knees have never felt better, even the knee that I had pulled the ACL in a few years back. With traditional shoes it would always feel like someone was taking a ball-peen hammer to my knee after a run.

    What can I say I’m a convert!

  42. Kimberly
    March 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    I’ve had my KSO’s for about 3 months now, and I love them. I’m a novice runner, only doing 2 to 5 mile runs daily. The comfort and fun factor of my KSOs really drags me out of bed on those cold, don’t-want-to-be-bothered days. I broke my mid foot joint a couple years back, and regular running shoes have always left me aching. The only burn I feel with these is the good, muscle building kind. I would really suggest VFFs for people just getting into running, not just experienced iron-men/women. They are so comfortable and fun, you won’t have any excuse not to get in shape.
    They did take about 3 long runs to get broken in. I have an odd long toe as well. I found if I just tugged on that toe for a bit every day, it stretched out to fit.
    As for @Mario’s experience, Vibram has pretty decent costumer service. If there’s a fault, they might just replace them.

  43. Olaf
    March 16, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I’ve been really curious about these shoes ever since I read Born to Run. The reviews are incredible and I’m ready to go out today and buy some KSO’s. I’ve been an off and on runner for over twenty years and never really liked it but did it because I love doing Triathlons. I’m curious if there is any special re-training that needs to be done in order to get the muscles, tendons and ligaments used to the new running style?

    Happy Trails

  44. Almost50
    March 17, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    Did my 1st run in 5 fingers KSO model yesterday, 5 miles on mix of pavement and gravel trail. Great run, lot of fun.

    I started out about 2 months ago trying barefoot on treadmill. 1st time did 1.5 miles and my feet, achilles and calf were very sore. But it was a natural kind of soreness, not the injury kind, just needed to strengthen those areas. When I started the barefoot thing, I’d do barefoot on the treadmill as much as I felt was good to try, and then put my shoes back on. and continued on until I’d do my standard 40 to 50 minutes.

    Barefoot, got to feeling so much better. Less up and down motion, more going forward when running barefoot.

    In thinking about it, I can see how shoes, even the best intentioned running shoes could amplify improper form. I am a structural engineer, used to analyzing forces and motions, and I find this barefoot thing fascinating from a mechanics perspective. I think a thick, cushiony, heavy shoe could be causing problems in a number of ways. First, you are swinging a weight around on the end of your foot. Also, the thickness of the sole adds a lever to misalignment: your foot is higher off the ground, so as your foot strikes, any angle other than optimum gets amplified by that lever arm. Add on top of that, you are compressing the cushiony stuff as your foot strikes, delaying the correction of alignment as your body progresses over your foot- so any misalignment gets held for a longer time, over a greater range of motion. I’ve noticed that barefoot or with 5 fingers, misalignment gets corrected on a “micro” scale, at your foot. With conventional running shoes, misalignment gets translated up your leg and body.

    My feet are still building strength as I transition to barefoot and 5 fingers running. I do notice my feet are sore now as I get up to longer distances, but that soreness is getting progressively less. My legs now NEVER get sore, and I am never tired even though I am running at an equal or faster pace than I did with conventional shoes. I think a lot less energy is used- a conventional shoe saps energy that gets lost in compressing the foam and just moving the weight of the shoe.

    I’m a convert.

  45. March 25, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    With regards to quality, my boyfriend and I both have over 1000mi on our KSOs. We run on rugged trails in mountains, I’ve taken them through ice, rivers, rocks, sand, dirt, etc. We both had them start to rip in the same place. I messaged Vibram about it and they said they want to keep the weight as low as possible (thank you Vibram!) so we should try to just sew them back together. We did, it holds up super well, and we’ve had no problems since. I appreciate their effort to keep the weight low. The repair job on mine is basically invisible and my boyfriend used colored thread which looks cool.

  46. deb b
    March 30, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Has anyone had to deal with Vibram on service issue or defect with the product? The company is awful “oh 90 day warranty too bad, so sad the stitching came undone on low use shoes”. 90 Days is barely enough time to acclimate your foot to using them. They were extremely unresponsive to any service issue. I hope that other companies will follow suit in offering a minimalist shoe with some service concerns.

  47. Trey H
    April 12, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    I’ve run 11 miles in my five fingers and love them. I tested them on a tread mill for the first run. I didn’t want to run a couple of miles and have to walk back if it didn’t work out. Ran a 8 min pace with no blisters or soreness. The second run, I ran 3 miles at a 9 min pace on the road. My calves were sore as hell and at mile 2.6 felt a blister starting up in the middle of “the ball” of each foot. Waited 3 days and ran 3 miles again at a 9 min pace on the road. Again, about mile 2.6 felt those blisters start to hurt and my calves were smoked (but a little less so). Waited about 5 days and ran 3 miles again on the road. I was able to run a 7:58 pace this time and had no blisters. My calves were sore again but less so. I can definitely feel my feet, ankles, and calves getting stronger. I am also getting more confident when running in them. Going down hills is probably the hardest thing when running in them. You have to concentrate on the mid foot strike and lean back a little. When you do a heal strike, you will certainly know it. I like the way the 5 fingers correct your running form and foot strike. My wife makes fun of my 5 finger shoes. She calls them my goofy shoes, but I like them. I only wear them when running and around the house. I am going to try them out when I go hiking this summer at the Grand Teton National Park. I will have my hiking shoes as back up.

  48. Almost50
    April 16, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    An update-
    Had my 5 fingers KSO for a month now. Prior to that, I did about 6 weeks building up barefoot on a treadmill. I’m up to 8 mile runs at fairly leisurely 8min/mile pace. My feet have definitely changed. I have a fairly thick callous under my 2nd toe, and my feet are much thicker on the bottom. Lots of muscle built up inside my foot, I can really feel a difference. My feet and calves are much stronger. Now need to work on picking up the pace.

  49. April 25, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Makes ya think. It may look funny, but then again… sometime back I was looking up MDB shoes. And then something happened, Nike’s new style of sports shoes do resemble that function… got one and it does feel like walking on air. Okay, back to the Five Fingers, I heard some say avoid doing over 1/2 mile on your first time out. I guess it takes some adapting and getting used to. Word has it, it force your toes to be spread open.
    Mark Martinez,
    Testing out best plain creatine like the energizer bunny

  50. Edd
    May 2, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Hello,
    I just wondered where I can get a pair of the White Vibrams that are in the picture up the top there. That specific pair I require. Any help is much apreciated :)
    Edd

  51. Sheryl
    May 3, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I’ve been using the Vibram Sprint as a running “shoe” for 3 months. Love it!! I agree that the Sprint and KSO are designed for running, not so much the others, which is mentioned on the Vibram website. I’m still learning how to run in them: Must stop heel striking and going downhill is a challenge. Once I completely un-teach myself all the bad habits of shoe running, I’ll be set. I’m running a 16K trail race in them this weekend (already did a practice run on the trail) and if all goes well, I’ll be running a marathon in them this August!

    As for foot issues, I’ve developed a callous where the back of the shoe grips my heel. I’m fine with that. If I do plyometrics without the toe socks, I can get blisters on my big toes, so I wear socks. Because I’m already a yoga addict, the transition to the Vibrams was seamless in terms of avoiding injury. For women who love their high heels (or men!), you will have no metatarsal issues, so that’s a plus.

    Yes, I get lots of looks and questions, especially because I wear them everywhere! People are really eager to understand a concept that is actually GOOD for our joints. I should have shares in the company for how many people have gone to the Vibram website after seeing me. I wish I had more balanced criticism but I don’t think I’ll ever go back to running shoes.

    Ciao. Sheryl

  52. Sheryl
    May 3, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Edd – go to http://www.vibramfivefingers.com. They sell out fast so good luck.

  53. Sheryl
    May 3, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Almost50 – I’m glad to hear I wasn’t the only one with calf and achilles soreness. I agree that it was a healthy soreness. My calves have acclimated and look better than ever with the new muscle definition, and I’ve learned to take extra time at the end of each run to really stretch out that calf and achilles area. Problem solved :)

  54. Edd
    May 4, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Sheryl thanks for your help it really is apreciated :)

  55. Joey in my pants
    May 8, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Um ya im decideing if I should et them

  56. May 8, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    I love this shoes :)

  57. M Weeks
    May 16, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Hi,

    I’m into my first week with my KSO’s and so far so good! The fit has been pretty good, even with a bunion on my right foot, which means the toe doesn’t quite sit properly in it’s pocket. This is being surgically corrected later this year and I know then it will be perfect.
    I have started wearing them in by walking around with them on at first for a few days, today I did a mile run on a trail with no problems,tomorrow I take them on the treadmill. I can’t at this point find anything bad to say. I’ll keep you posted! Happy running all.

  58. May 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I know what you’re talking about. I’m going through the same thing currently… Thanks for sharing!

  59. Matt
    June 21, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Im looking to buy my first pair of VFF’s and trying to decide between the sprint and the KSO. I like the look of the sprint better but would be disappointed if I sacrificed much comfort for that. I live in the city and most of the time would be on concrete or grass with them but I especially want to be able to use them for camping, walking/running trails, climbing and some water sports. Is there that much of an issue with “stuff” getting in the sprints? Does anyone strongly recommend one over the other for a good all around type model? I live in Texas so its usually pretty hot if that matters at all…

  60. craig
    June 21, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    i grew up running barefooted and hate shoes, socks, and underwear for that matter )))) – i bought the top of the line running shoe last week and love them them – i wear them all the time and so many people are curious about them – great ice breaker )))))

  61. ffmary
    June 25, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    Thanks for the great info. I bought the classic for general fitness use. Most recently I wore them for a general fitness DVD (p90x core synergistics). I have not worn them for a few days. My pinky toe started hurting then throbbing. The pain keeps getting worse. It appears I may have bruised under my toenail? Everything looks and feels normal except the area under the toe nail which radiates awful pain. Any suggestions, other than not wearing them until the pain goes away?

    I intended to purchase the KSO’s but the elastic is too tight across the top of my foot. They are not an option unless I can snip the elastic at the top and rely on the strap to secure the shoe.

    Thanks for your thoughts.

  62. July 6, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    A friend of mine has been suggesting these for awhile. I might finally break down and buy them.

  63. jacob
    July 9, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    i really want a pair of VFF but im deciding between KSO’s and Sprints. i was wondering which is better for long distance? i do Cross Country where we do 8 miles or so a day. the KSO’s seem to have more cushioning but the sprints seem better. i would just like to know which model is better for long distance. thanks

  64. jacob
    July 10, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    how much training barefoot should i do before i seriously run in VFF’s?

  65. John in ATX
    July 16, 2010 at 2:51 am #

    Has anyone else developed plantar fasciitis _after_ switching to VFF? I’ve been running (4 miles) in KSO’s for about three months. A few weeks ago I started feeling twinges on bottom of left foot upon waking up. Has gotten progressively worse since then. When the PF first started, I’d noticed that my stride had started to slip back from a forefoot strike (sounded like I was running in swim flippers!). I think I may have overcompensated–ended up practically running on tip-toe. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I love running in VFF’s, but the PF is starting to worry me.
    Cheers
    j

  66. Danny Do
    July 28, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    For those out there who have discovered a new lease in (running) life thanks to VFFs, I STRONGLY recommend purchasing the new Bikilas… Ive had my KSO for approx a year and half – I mainly used them for fishing trips, on a boat, land, water, mud etc…. and on the odd occasion ran in them. Then i discovered ‘Bikila’ … these are the ducks nuts, there is no doubt about the fact that these shoes were built from ground up… they are designed for running, and dear god do i love to run in them! For those who love to run in their KSOs (and any other pair for that matter) i DARE you to invest in Bikilas, and an might fine investment it will be. The grip they offer, the fabric they used, the weight has dropped by +30% (compared to KSO)…. and you thought your current VFFs hugged… no bloody way, not compared to these puppies. Go out and buy a pair and thank me later for it!

    PS. Just took my VFF ‘Speed’ on a maiden run… these shoes are beautiful too, i dont feel they are as perfect for running as Bikila but they are comfy as sh*t too! Definitely made for walking and hiking!

    VFFFFL! (Vibram Five Finger Fan For Life!)

  67. August 30, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    Through five fingers shoes of the 10 benefits
    1.An increased running speed – The results show that wear it and wear ordinary shoes than you can raise the rate of 4%
    2. blood circulation – wear it, every step of every part of your feet are different degrees of contact with the ground , more muscle tissue to the blood flowing through the venous system by the shock
    3. to reduce ankle sprain – the friction with the ground in direct contact with the process, reduce the torsion forces because of a sprained ankle suffered ankle happen
    4. reduce the appearance of the folder outside the tibia – shin outside the folder ( athletes in the long toe flexor strain , the phenomenon of pain along the shin bone ), iliotibial band syndrome and peri- patellar pain is a common disorder athletes . Running barefoot on the arch of the foot ( the bottom) increased use and increased soft tissue structures of the foot support for the work to increase the strength of the foot , reducing foot injury and the emergence of this disease .
    5. to reduce back pain – heel elevation to reduce the phenomenon of so hip back to their natural course , to reduce the load on lumbar facet joint .
    6 .Strengthening the role of body experience – our feet can sense and transmit data in time to return to our brain , so that we can better address the challenging terrain .
    7 .strengthen the muscles – if you do not use it , it will become very loose . Wear toe shoes to walk our foot muscles to strengthen .
    8 .lower toe mucocele big risk – according to our traditional shoes with toes . Five fingers shoes slowly so that they extend and encourage the work of the big toe .
    9. optimal balance – a keen perception of the information timely feedback to the brain means that means better balance and faster response . This is important for the elderly and athletes .
    10 .women like to correct deformed toes and heels , but has been wearing high heels will make their feet hurt and become deformed .

    Our long-term wholesale Vibram shoes, vibram five fingers shoes, price, quality assurance, welcome new and old customers to buy!

  68. Sam Planas
    September 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I purchased my KSO on sunday and I started to do a slow 2 1/2 mile run but when i got ready to turn around, it felt to comfortable and i was able to complete my 5 mile run on the second day of use. The next day my calves wore notoriously sore and i could barely walk, but the day after they were sore but i was still able to run. I ran in them again and completed a 6 mile run in a little over an hour. I am running in south florida and they are amazing. Listen to your body, focus on your running form, and focus on the front strike. you wont regret it and never mind what everyone else has to think. the back pain i normally get during my run, I did not have which in by itself was enough. If your still unsure, take it from an active duty military member who could not even run a mile. They are worth it..

  69. Stella
    September 18, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Hi everyone,
    I´m looking for some advice about my KSOs. I´ve had them about 3 months and love them as a running shoe. It feels so free and natural to run in them!
    I recently moved to a city and now I have to run on hard street surfaces a lot of the time. I´ve noticed my knees “click” a lot more often, although I have no pain (as of yet)
    I am not sure if the clicking is caused by the Five Fingers or running on the city streets. I don´t even know if it is a problem.
    Any advice from Five Fingers runners would be greatly appreciated, Thanks

  70. October 20, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    i prefer to use mechanical treadmills over electric treadmills,:.

  71. Nick
    October 24, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I bought my first pair of classics and had my first run today. I went straight out for a 3 miler but I’m sure my calves will be feeling it tomorrow.
    I have a slight problem wearing them, my 3rd toe seems restricted and rubs a bit. But strangely only when I’m not doing anything in them. When I was running I had no problem.
    I bought a size smaller than ‘regular’ shoes and don’t have any problems with chaffing on my Achilles.

    Cant wait to run in them again… (oh and till my calves strengthen up)

  72. October 26, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Great. Thanks for posting this. Its always nice to see someone educate the community.

  73. Sophia
    November 4, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    My second toe is longer than my first by slightly over a half cm. I still bought these in my normal size and tried the Bikila style by Vibram. I don’t know if specifically the Bikila style saved me from pain due to the transition into barefoot running but I honestly didn’t have any sore muscles or any “breaking in” period other than my toes, which wasn’t painful, as I never blistered, but just excessively tight and mostly uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend Vibrams, specifically the Bikila style, to someone with a longer second toe, however I would like to mention a problem: The rubber started to peel off on my sightly longer right foot shoe due to excessive stretching as my smaller toes are longer than Vibram designed their shoes for. I simply glued the rubber back over the toe part but this time, I left slightly more material for my toes. Now they are fine, and after breaking in, they were no longer tight: I would recommend buying these even if you have a second toe that is longer because the shoe stretched to my shape in a week of moderate use, and if that doesn’t work, you can try what I did! I uses Epoxy glue, which held perfectly however they make softer rubbery glue for shoes that I also bought. (“Shoe Goo” but haven’t had any need to try yet.)
    After using the Bikilas for three months, I bought the Classic style Vibrams and although nice, they are much more uncomfortable. These gave me blisters in my heels the first/second time and I still haven’t broken them in because they actually cause pain in my toes so I haven’t worn them a third time. I may try ripping off the rubber on the toes and re-gluing them leaving more material but I am hoping that they break in similar to my last pair. Overall, after stretching out my Bikilas, it felt like the most natural thing in the world (while still wearing shoes). With regular use most of my sore back muscles disappeared. Actual barefoot running would probably be even better but stepping in nails or glass isn’t worth it when you live in a city. I hope that everyone starts buying these in an effort to fight foot-deforming shoes. If that happens, I feel sure that Vibram or some other company will start making a variety of molds to better fit people outside the “normal” foot spectrum due to narrow, wide feet or long toes. Before I bought these, I never realized how much taking care of your feet is worth, as the Chinese seem to emphasize. For me, believe it or not, these really lead to a higher quality of life.

  74. Sophia
    November 6, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Just giving an update on my Vibram classics: I did have to rip the top rubber off of two toes to give me more room for my long toes, and now they are comfortable! I don’t care if Vibrams aren’t perfect, they are still the best running shoe I’ve ever had.

  75. Rama
    January 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    I have bought VFF Classics last night from REI and ran about 5 miles on the treadmill. I used to wear some water shoes that I bought in Walmart up until now and they were awesome!, but VFFs gave me a big blisters on both of my foot – felt like it was because of the threading inside. I will try the Sprints or KSOs and see if are any better.

    Also i did not like the sole on the shoe either.. it felt like there was some additional resistance under the toe each time I landed.

  76. Tammy
    January 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I’m an avid distance trail runner. I switched to running trails in KSOs several years ago and run in them so long as the weather holds (I live in Idaho). Since my feet get cold, I knew I wanted to wear Injinji socks with them and purchased them at the same time for a perfect fit.

    When I was new to the KSOs, I started with a 1 mile run and increased my mileage in them very slowly (carrying my other shoes with me for quick switch with no big delay). By gradually increasing my mileage, I avoided the all-to-heard-of blisters, calf and ankle pains those who run too many miles right out of the box suffer. Easing into running in the VFF will make a huge difference in your experience.

  77. scott
    February 1, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    I Love these Five fingers, I love the feeling of the foot strike. Yes the stride is shorter, but the
    Turnover is so efficient. I also am in good condition due to triathlon training. I have
    Always had some issues with finding the correct running shoes. I would suggest jump rope
    To build the calf strength and also cycling. The looks are noticeable but who cares when
    Your running side by side with cross country runners 30 years younger. Go out
    And try a pair!

  78. June 22, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    Took me time for it to Vibram classic shoes read all the feedback, but I really enjoy the article. It turned out to be really helpful to me and I am positive to all the commenters here! Its constantly nice whenever you can not only be informed, but also employed! Im certain you’d joy writing this write-up.

  79. Stig
    July 11, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Yes, a great site and an interesting thread. I just took delivery of a second-hand pair of KSOs, which are in great condition and hardly used. A quick try on suggests the size is right, but getting my smallest toes into their pockets seems to be a swine! Looking forward to giving them a try tonight (assuming said pinkies can be persuaded in!).

  80. July 19, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Here in Japan, fiver fingered socks are also very popular. And quite cheap.

    I was thinking they would work perfectly with the Vibram five fingered shoes you reviewed.
    Since I like to wear socks, for less foot rot feeling when I sweat.

    The photos only show you without socks. Maybe that is because you don’t have your five fingered socks yet ;)

    I like the 100% cotton ones. But my wife buys the 100% Japanese silk version. (a little expensive but have a long lifespan).

    What do you think?
    Shall I send you a pair? Or do you have these types of socks already?

    Bye

    • January 7, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      Yes, TACE, interested in the silk babies… please advise

  81. Nick Price Singapore
    January 16, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Read Born To Run – (usual story!), and decided to make the jump to Vibram and change my style after shocking knee injuries. Best thing I’ve done albeit I do feel like someone has stolen my calf muscles and replaced them with house bricks (I was pretty keen to get out and started with a 10k run, – START SLOWLY guys!!).

  82. May 11, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    If we consider the design of the Vibram Fivefingers, there are several distinct features. In Vibram Five Fingers, you get all the health benefits of barefoot running combined with our patented Five Fingers Vibram sole that protects you from elements and obstacles in your path.They don’t look like any normal shoe, first and foremost due to the sole. Vibram KSO is shaped like a foot and is supposed to wrap around you like a thin protective layer of rubber. Sounds good so far, considering that this is what we want when acquiring a shoe for our purpose: just a little protection that doesn’t interfere with our feet’s abilities or functions. Also, the Vibram Bikila’s sole is very flexible and you quickly notice the small grooves in the material.

  83. January 7, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    Old thread now – but good… should keep it up… anyway, i wanna walk in a cold northeast usa city and in free shoes – AND not feel the chill from the ground below and the air above… my current vibrams, dunno what style, a gift, but i think pretty minimalist/thin

    …any suggestions on the ones for warmth?

    …btw, thx for the tip for bikila (& speed), Sophia

  84. Perry
    February 22, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    The hype on these things is unreal.

    Overpriced, overrated, and too hot to wear.

    Just get a cheap pair of aqua (water) shoes.

  85. February 28, 2013 at 2:56 am #

    The stronger your feet, the more power you have in your push and the faster your legs can move.

  86. February 28, 2013 at 5:50 am #

    Acupuncture is the practice of inserting needles into specific points on the body in order to solve physical ailments, illness, and pain. The basic premise of acupuncture is that the body will restore itself to health under the right circumstances. Acupuncture is a method of assisting the body to heal itself and restore itself to perfect health.

  87. February 28, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    Good health starts with accepting responsibility for our bodies and our spirit, and I truly appreciate you for helping me in this journey.

  88. February 28, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    The information provided is good.

  89. February 28, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Acupuncture therapy, a unique and advanced acupuncture system that
    targets specific areas on the head to treat different parts of the body. It is
    the least invasive form of acupuncture, and highly effective-many times our
    patients with severe acute or chronic pain or other condition report
    immediate relief. The basic premise of acupuncture is that the body will
    restore itself to health under the right circumstances. Acupuncture is a
    method of assisting the body to heal itself and restore itself to perfect
    health.

  90. March 1, 2013 at 1:57 am #

    Don’t stop your working..go on providing an information more

  91. October 18, 2013 at 5:12 am #

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content available
    for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FuncFash, the Functional and Fashionable Product Blog » Blog Archive » Best Reviews, Opinions, and Information on Vibram FiveFingers - August 4, 2009

    [...] Review: Vibram FiveFingers Classic (5/10, look better than they [...]

  2. Passive-Aggressive Gifts for Geeks Who Are Late to Everything [Gift Guide] « my mcLife - November 25, 2009

    [...] shoes are the footies of choice for Google’s Sergey Brin, and the center of a hippie natural running movement. Also, the hideousness should make you run even faster to wherever you’re going. $80. [...]

  3. Passive-Aggressive Gifts For Geeks Who Are Late To Everything | Gizmodo Australia - November 25, 2009

    [...] shoes are the footies of choice for Google’s Sergey Brin, and the centre of a hippie natural running movement. Also, the hideousness should make you run even faster to wherever you’re going. $US80. [...]

  4. Passive-Aggressive Gifts for Geeks Who Are Late to Everything [Gift Guide] | china online business,e business,e-commerce consultant - November 26, 2009

    [...] FiveFingers shoes are the footies of choice for Google’s Sergey Brin, and the center of a hippie natural running movement. Also, the hideousness should make you run even faster to wherever you’re going. $80. [...]

  5. Passive-Aggressive Gifts for Geeks Who Are Late to Everything [Gift Guide] » Shai Perednik.com - November 28, 2009

    [...] shoes are the footies of choice for Google’s Sergey Brin, and the center of a hippie natural running movement. Also, the hideousness should make you run even faster to wherever you’re going. $80. [...]

  6. Passive-Aggressive Gifts for Geeks Who Are Late to Everything [Gift Guide] | Technology Magazine - January 24, 2010

    [...] shoes are the footies of choice for Google’s Sergey Brin, and the center of a hippie natural running movement. Also, the hideousness should make you run even faster to wherever you’re going. $80. [...]

  7. 5 Great Reviews about Vibram Five Fingers « Martorder Blog - April 18, 2010

    [...] http://www.barefootrunner.com/2009/03/review-vibram-fivefingers-classic/ [...]

  8. Vibram 5 Fingers hacked – literally! | Primal in Poole - May 13, 2012

    [...] think of any but if one becomes apparent then I will let you know. Since then I found this review of the Classic which criticises that back flap. Anyway, I went out and walked for 50 mins with no, [...]

  9. Barefoot Training, Vibram Five Fingers and the Evils of Strength Sucking Modern Shoes | Mike T Nelson Fitness Videos - March 8, 2013

    [...] Barefootrunner.com: Review:Vibram FiveFingers Classic [...]

Leave a Reply